Victoria University

Ask for free advice
Victoria University
Victoria University (VU) was founded in 1916 as Footscray Technical School. After successive mergers with TAFE colleges across Melbourne’s western suburbs, Victoria University of Technology was established in 1990, and renamed Victoria University in 2005.

Today, VU is one of the largest and most culturally diverse education institutions in Australia, and one of only five multi-sector universities offering vocational education (TAFE) and higher education courses.

VU now has more than 48,000 enrolled students, which includes more than 13,400 international students studying our courses onshore or with our partner institutions offshore. More than 2,400 academics, teaching and general staff join with the University’s students to make VU a university that is excellent, engaged and accessible.

VU maintains strong links with local communities, government and industry, and is distinctive because of its transformational role in improving the lives of people and communities, especially in the western metropolitan region of Melbourne.


Victoria University offers the following scholarships for international students:

  • The Research Training Program Stipend Scholarship and VU International Postgraduate Research Scholarship assist students wishing to participate in postgraduate research programs. They awarded based on academic achievement and each have a value of AU$27,082 per year.
  • The VU College Diploma Merit Scholarship rewards international student achievement. It is a AU$2000 grant for the second semester of studies and, to be considered, students must achieve at least a distinction in each unit in the first semester.
  • A wide range of scholarships is available to international students. Scholarships are specific to countries, study areas and research areas. For more, go to VU scholarships.

Additional Resources